City of Djinns: A Year In Delhi by William Dalrymple

City of DjinnsWhen I was first told of this book, I was skeptical about reading it, as nonfiction is a genre which I had a completely irrational dislike for. I’m glad to say that all my doubts vanished as soon as I read the first page of this book. This made me know the city I’ve been in forever even better. The many traditions, the ever-changing rulers, the rich history, it all had me awestruck. I was pulled into this book instantly and abandoned all my other “current-reads” for the time being. The picture William Dalrymple portrays of this immortal city is as realistic as it can get. Reading the descriptions I felt as if I myself was the one visiting the various places and landmarks mentioned throughout the book. I don’t think I can put it into words about how much I loved the time I spent reading it. This definitely was a 5 star read for me and I know this is one book I won’t mind rereading again and again.

Leave a Reply

