A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

a monster callsStories are wild creatures. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?

I won’t even try writing a summary of this book.
If asked to describe the story, all I could say would be.. Touching.

There are stories which you love, because of the writing style, or the characters, or just the plot.
And then there are stories which just touch the deepest parts of your heart and then hide in a corner there, making you carry them with you… Forever.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness was the latter for me.

This story was full of wisdom. If asked to tell my favourite bit, I don’t think I’ll be able to put my finger on one. I never thought that a story with the narration of a 13-year-old could be full of such wisdom.
Anyway, now here I am, trying to choose one favourite, and here’s what I’ve come up with:
”I wish I had a hundred years,” she said, very quietly. ”A hundred years I could give to you.”

All I can say is that to understand the true beauty of this novel, one should not be here, reading the reviews, but instead should already get their copy of book and START READING! 🙂

Leave a Reply

