The Last Time

Sometimes, it hits me in the middle of a thought, the middle of an action. That it was the last time.

The last time she laughed.

The last time she cried.

The last time she scolded me.

The last time she breathed.

And for that one fragment of a second, the whole world stops for me. It’s just me, and my heart full of regret left.

Regret of not being a better daughter.

Regret of taking her for granted.

Regret of not telling how much she means to me sooner.

And all this regret, it leaves me broken.

-Written on 22nd December 2015

One thought on “The Last Time

Leave a Reply

