One Word

After my mother’s departure from this world, for quite some months a simple word said in a conversation had the power ruining me to pieces. It was sort of a ‘trigger’, you could say? I would start feeling anxious and have a headache and to summarise, it was totally horrible!
The following piece of writing was written after one of those moments when I just wanted someone to console me and calm me down but was too scared to ask someone.


One word
I hear
Gets stuck
In my brain
Thoughts spiral
Out of control
Legs shaking
I can’t stand
Can’t write
Am scared
From deep
Deep within my bones
See me
For who I am
Who
My demons are
Embrace me
As I am
My tears
My smiles
And
Calm me down.

5 thoughts on “One Word

Leave a Reply

